EPP (Expert Patients Programme)

The Expert Patients Programme (EPP) is a free course for anyone living with one, or more, long-term health condition in Croydon. The six-week course is designed to boost your health and wellbeing, find solutions to common problems and help you feel more confident to manage your condition.

The Expert Patients Programme complements the care and support you already receive from healthcare professionals and will make you aware of other services and resources available in your area.

Weekly sessions cover a range of topics including:

  • Managing stress

  • Planning for the future

  • Communicating with family, friends and health care
    professionals

  • Finding other health services in the community

  • Managing symptoms

  • Dealing with pain and tiredness

  • Coping with feelings of depression and anxiety

  • Healthy eating

  • Exercise

EPP Leaflet.png

Next 3 Course Dates 

EPP COURSE 2

Wednesday 26th January

5.15pm - 7.45pm, Zoom

Wednesday 2nd February

5.15pm - 7.45pm, Zoom

Wednesday 9th February

5.15pm - 7.45pm, Zoom

Wednesday 16th February

5.15pm - 7.45pm, Zoom

Wednesday 23rd February

5.15pm - 7.45pm, Zoom

Wednesday 2nd March

5.15pm - 7.45pm, Zoom

EPP COURSE 3

Friday 25th February

5.30pm - 8pm, Zoom

Friday 4th March

5.30pm - 8pm, Zoom

 

Friday 11th March

5.30pm - 8pm, Zoom

 

Friday 18th March

5.30pm - 8pm, Zoom

Friday 25th March

5.30pm - 8pm, Zoom

 

Friday 1st April

5.30pm - 8pm, Zoom

EPP COURSE 4

Thursday 17th March

10am - 12.30pm, Zoom

Thursday 24th March

10am - 12.30pm, Zoom

Thursday 31st March

10am - 12.30pm, Zoom

Thursday 7th April

10am - 12.30pm, Zoom

Thursday 14th April

10am - 12.30pm, Zoom

Thursday 21st April

10am - 12.30pm, Zoom

EPP Poster.png

Contact:

To register on a course, or for more information contact:

Lizzie Grashion Hewitt, EPP Coordinator

Email: lizzie.hewitt@arccltd.com

Tel: 020 8684 3784

 

Availability

 

There are 2 to 8 courses a year in Croydon; the location and dates depend on venues and availability of tutors. The currently available courses are listed above.

How has EPP helped other people?

People who have taken part in the course have reported that it has helped them to:

  • Feel confident and more in control of their life

  • Manage their condition and treatment together with healthcare professionals

  • Be realistic about the impact of their condition on themselves and their family

  • Use their new skills and knowledge to improve their quality of life

How does it work?

The course is delivered over six weeks, in sessions lasting 2.5 hours with refreshment breaks included. There’s also an opportunity at the end of the session to chat and get to know the other people in your group.

(The online course is delivered over seven weeks, as we include

an introductory Zoom session before Week 1.)

How can I take part in a course?

The course is open to self-referrals, as well as referrals from doctors and other professionals.

What will it cost?

The course is free for anyone who has one, or more, long-term health conditions.

Who runs the course?

Each course is delivered by 2 fully trained tutors. The tutors will have a personal experience of living with a long-term health condition.

Course Dates – 2022

 

Please note that due to the Coronavirus pandemic, all Expert Patients Programmes are currently running online, via Zoom.